It is currently Sat May 25, 2013 3:41 am

Board index » 356Talk » 356Talk Main Discussion

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Is this a scam
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:00 pm 
356 Fan

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 3:42 pm
Posts: 2
Does anyone know of a Dariusz Sielewitz who recently advertised a blue 65 356c for sale and who just moved to WA from Woodbridge VA. I cant get an address to inspect the car for a PPI but he is pretty insistant on me paying up front. Lovely pictures of the car but no engine or chassis numbers supplied despite requests. Just smells very fishy to me. Maybe a warning to all out there. Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this a scam
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:07 pm 
356 Fan
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 4293
Tag: KTF
These are my three rules for smelling out a scam, looks like your guy already failed one.

Couple of easy things to do to prove a scam.
1. Can't talk to the seller on the phone. The BIG RED FLAG.
2. Ask for more pics of something that would be hard to do if you didn't have the car, like the inner upper closing panel, or the side of the battery box, tell him you are worried about accident damage. If the seller can't produce these pics, red flag.
3. Ask him about doing a PPI, pre-purchase inspection, triple red flag if the guy is un-willing.

_________________
Always Buying Porsche parts/cars and sometimes selling.

www.unobtanium-inc.com

Always check out the blog:

http://unobtaniuminc.wordpress.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this a scam
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:28 pm 
356 Fan

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 3:42 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks Adam, this guy is deaf so cant talk on phone!!!! You answered my query .thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this a scam
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:30 pm 
Registry Trustee
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:02 pm
Posts: 3481
Location: SE Michigan
And because he's deaf, he can't provide a chassis number.
Makes sense to me.

_________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this a scam
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:45 pm 
356 Fan
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:00 pm
Posts: 4293
Tag: KTF
I normally tell these guys where they can find their money but it will take some steps to follow, and some astronomy.
1. Find a flashlight.
2. Find a dark place, like a basement or a bathroom.
3. Find your money, using the flashlight, on the dark side of Ur-Anus.

Even the deaf guys hear that one loud and clear...

_________________
Always Buying Porsche parts/cars and sometimes selling.

www.unobtanium-inc.com

Always check out the blog:

http://unobtaniuminc.wordpress.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this a scam
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:47 pm 
356 Fan

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 2711
Location: San Francisco
vic skirmants wrote:
And because he's deaf, he can't provide a chassis number.
Makes sense to me.


Vic,
It's hard to hear the numbers from the car if you can't hear well....

_________________


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Board index » 356Talk » 356Talk Main Discussion

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group