It is currently Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:21 pm

Board index » 356Talk » 356Talk Main Discussion

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Potential Scam Alert - Denver
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 7:42 pm 
356 Fan
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:43 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Colorado
Tag: Still searching for the Holy Grill
A week ago yesterday, an ad showed up in the Denver Post. "1964 Porsche 356C Convertible, Black/Brown, manual, 68,700 mi., $29,000. Call (720)863-4795)"
I called, left my number and said I was interested in the car. A week goes by, and today, "Victoria" calls from Spokane, WA (509)590-0093. Wasn't able to talk to her, but texted back, asking where I see the car, and what was the VIN.
So far no answer to my text. The car also shows up in Cars.com as an advertisement in the Denver Post, which it still is listed along with a small picture.
Has anybody had any experience with this "Victoria" in Spokane, WA???

Roger Shapiro

_________________
Roger Shapiro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Potential Scam Alert - Denver
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 7:46 pm 
356 Fan
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:27 pm
Posts: 935
She may be calling from a cabin in Bosnia. Be careful out there and KTF.

_________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Potential Scam Alert - Denver
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 8:09 pm 
356 Fan

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 2764
Location: San Francisco
What Tom said, sorta.
Most of the 'Victorias' offering those sorts of deals to me are Nigerian.

_________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Potential Scam Alert - Denver
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 7:03 pm 
356 Fan

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 6:21 am
Posts: 1
Roger,

I too answered the add a couple of weeks ago and left a voice mail message. She called me back yesterday and said her name was Victoria and both she and the car were in Canada. She indicated the car was titled in the US and wanted to sell it to someone here as a result. My conclusion was, like yours, it is a scam and I told her I would only be interested in the car if it was in Colorado. She sounded very pleasant and not pushy; however.

Bob Sutherland


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Potential Scam Alert - Denver
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:55 pm 
Registry Trustee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 4:25 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Maybe Victoria is the sister of "Peggy" from the Capital One commercials.

Bob

_________________
Bob Campbell
1956 Porsche Special
1958 Speedster
1959 Porsche Junior Tractor
1996 993 Carrera 2

It's either this or a real job.
www.356Services.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Board index » 356Talk » 356Talk Main Discussion

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Allen Henderson, Bing [Bot], Dean Tanner, Google [Bot], Larry Brooks


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group